Holy Tulsa Thunder

by Beau Jennings

  • Streaming + Download

    Immediate download of 10-track album in your choice of 320k mp3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.




Beau Jennings may hang his hat in Brooklyn these days, but the subject matter of his carefully crafted songs on his solo debut, Holy Tulsa Thunder, remain tied to his home state of Oklahoma. After releasing two full length records with his New York twang-rock collaboration, Cheyenne, Jennings called upon longtime friend and producer Chad Copelin (Bishop Allen, The Umbrellas) to record this album. All the songs on Holy Tulsa Thunder were recorded live in Copelin's Oklahoma studio, using pianist Ryan Lindsey (Starlight Mints), and the rhythm section of drummer James McAlister and bassist Jeff Shoop (both of whom backed Sufjan Stevens on his Illionois tour). All the musicians grew up around Tulsa, passing hot summer days at Bell's Amusement Park, the demise of which is a recurring theme throughout the ten song record.

To settle any potential controversy, Beau Jennings is still the frontman for Cheyenne. However, how Jennings had the time to write melodies this brash and beautiful while playing and recording non-stop with his original outfit, the world may never know. The once ever-changing group of musicians comprising Cheyenne has now solidified, and Jennings says he "just needed a new outlet for songs that don't fit the band's now firm lineup and sound."

Occasionally channeling the energy of young Bruce Springsteen, other times the delicate vocals of Jeff Tweedy, Jennings has quietly crafted an Americana masterpiece with Holy Tulsa Thunder. It's Nebraska through a Being There kaleidoscope. It's a late night requiem for the lost stomping grounds of youth that forever stand tall in our memories. It's a drinking record. Pour yourself a whiskey and give it a spin!


released July 8, 2008

Recorded live between December 18 and December 23, 2007 at Blackwatch Studios in Norman, OK

Produced, recorded and mixed by Chad Copelin. Assisted by Jarod Evans. Mastered by TW Walsh.

All songs written by Beau Jennings.

Design by Ryan Feerer.

Originally released July 8, 2008 by A Silence Production.

Beau Jennings - vocals, guitar, piano

Ryan Lindsey - pianot, guitar, background vocals

James McAlister - drums, percussion

Jeff Shoop - bass, background vocals

Chad Copelin - bass on "San Juan Capistrano"



all rights reserved


Beau Jennings Norman, Oklahoma

After years in Brooklyn fronting americana rock band Cheyenne, singer and songwriter Beau Jennings was in search of a new backing band upon returning to his home in Oklahoma. The Tigers – based out of Norman and a wrecking crew of some of the best musicians in the state – were already known as the go-to backing band for songwriters from the area and were a perfect match for Jennings’ new songs. ... more


contact / help

Contact Beau Jennings

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code